A good project to get started with

Stevo11

Hi all, I've been learning php for a few months now and am pretty confident with it. I really want to get stuck into a php project that will involve a number of php aspects. Basically I'm after a few ideas to start me off. All ideas are welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Steve :)

A freind of mine suggested making a blog and expanding is at I go. I agree it will be a good project to get going with but I was hoping that there would be something a bit more snazzy :P Although I don't want to get ahead of my self lol. A blog might just be the way to go...

I expanded my first gallery script in to something quite impressive.

It has album support, slideshow support, movie support (with thumbnails ever <x> seconds)

This came out of necessity. Whenever we do something as a family extended family wants PICTURES. More pictures! So, I set up a family intranet for family to view all of the wonderful photos my wife takes of us (especially our daughter) on all of our events. It's become quite a hit.

Imagine, we'll be visiting something similar years down the road when then grandkids come over. They're going to be like.. wow, this is lame, using such an ancient technology ;)

I personally started learning PHP by running a open source browser based game made in PHP, its called Dragon Knight, you can learn alot from it, and other games like it, and eventually you will be able to add your own features once you understand the scripting.

Now after learning from 3 open source browser based games, I am in the middle of making my own game in PHP, and you learn a lot from making your own.  :)

• 2 weeks later...

What I generally recommend to someone wanted a "test" project is a Personal Management System with some basic beginner features and build onto it as you learn more about what your doing.

Something along the lines of a personal management system that can:

* Add/edit/delete/sort/filter Contacts

* Add/edit/delete/sort/filter notes