You opinion on what makes a good web developer

WebHostGurl

I've recently been hired on as HR Manager of a web hosting company and part of what I do is the hiring of IT professionals (ie web developers).  I'm new to hiring in the IT industry and besides the average keywords, I am looking for any advice/suggestions as to what sort of things to look for in a candidate or things that would possibly make one person stand out from the rest.  Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Well, first of all, don't be impressed by how many acronyms a candidate can throw at you in one sentence, because that doesn't necessarily mean that they're good at what they do.  Also, it's not just about have an impressive portfolio in the aesthetics category (in terms of web design), but also about good implementations of the markup and code.  If you have a beautiful site, but it uses tables for layouts, it's nothing special in this day and age.  If you can code a fancy PHP app that functions properly from a user point of view, but ends up being absolutely horrible when dissected by someone who knows what they're doing (i.e: the code uses deprecated functions, has useless loops, has repeating code (yay for OOP!), etc), then it's not all that great.

All of those things kind of weigh in when looking for web development positions.  You may have been coding for 10 years, sure, but it doesn't mean you're using best practices and doing everything perfectly.

Phew.  That was an annoying post to type.

To expand on what DarkWater said, it's of vital importance to know what constitutes professional work which utilizes what most in the industry considers to be best practices.  OOP, unobtrusive JavaScript, familiarity with popular frameworks and/or libraries (jQuery, Code Igniter, Smarty, etc.), CSS for layout, etc.