Getting PHP certified in the UK

Plato

Hello

As the title says I'm from the UK. I have been writing PHP for about 6 months and although I'm obviously fairly new, I'd really like to pursue it as a career.

I only have A-levels (no degree) and I'm really not interested in going to university for a few years. So based on all of that, could anyone give me a few pointers as the best course of action to take to advance a career in PHP?

Obviously experience is invaluable, so I thought the best first step to take would be to get my foot in the door as a part time job (or very junior full time position) in a web development company. I still want to gain a bit more experience, writing scripts and practising in my own time but it would be great to aim for some sort of web development related job in a year or so.

In order to make this easier I'm looking at getting some kind of certificate as I won't have a degree. The only one I've been able to find is the Zend engineer certificate. Could anyone tell me if this has any value to employers?

Thanks for any help!

I plan on getting the Zend certificate when I get time. I think it'll help. It's something anyway, something that you can show to people that proves you are qualified to some degree.

Other then that though, I'm sure companies would want to see some sort of portfolio of your scripts. Maybe...

Hello All!

My first post, go easy on me...

I am from England too, and have been right were you are...

My opinion is that both experience and qualifications are important as far as a your career goes. Thing is, if you are going into a job vs someone with a HND (a uni level course) then a bit of experience isn't going to make you more favorable.

My advice is to checkout what IT courses at your local college are available, at the same time attempt to run a part time development job.