Using

<? $query3 = "SELECT subid, COUNT(subid) FROM items WHERE id=$thisID ";
$result3 = mysql_query($query3);
// Print out result
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result3)){
echo "There are ". $row['COUNT(subid)'] ."items.";
echo "<br />";
}?>

I can see there are 3 item but how would I update them if I changed 1 or 2 of the values,

How would I pickup the subid value (which is unique to each row) to update and then cycle through only the rows that are changed or do I have to update all rows?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense I am still learning (the hard way) :)

I will try and explain it a little better (sorry it is hard to explain something I don't know)

This is my code

<form action="test.php" method="post">
<? while($row=mysql_fetch_array($result)) { ?>

<td width=80px name="subid" value="52">apple</td>

<? } ?>

<input type="submit" />

</form>

the output is

(subid value 52) apple

(subid value 53) orange

(subid value 54) lemon

The problem is I am trying to pick up the subid value via $_POST["subid"] but subid is different for each one.

Can I cycle through the post data and pick up each subid value or am I going to have to do something like subid1 but then I could have up to 50 rows in the table so it seams like doing this would be wrong

$sql3 = "UPDATE mytable(subid, fruit) WHERE id='.db_input($_POST['subid1']);
$sql3 .= "VALUES('" . $_POST['subid1'] . "','" . $_POST[$i . 'fruit'] . "')";

then again with 2

$sql3 = "UPDATE mytable(subid, fruit) WHERE id='.db_input($_POST['subid2']);
$sql3 .= "VALUES('" . $_POST['subid2'] . "','" . $_POST[$i . 'fruit'] . "')";

then how would I tell it to stop as there might be 3 in that table or 300

Does this make it a little clearer?

Thank you for helping :)

Edited by backspc

Also, if that code is copy-pasted directly from your script, without modification, you really should turn on error reporting. (See the last link in Jessica's signature.)