tutorial

Renlok

i wrote a tutorial wondering if its any good?

[url=http://www.we-link.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=32.0]http://www.we-link.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=32.0[/url]

any feedback on it? and i know its really simple but im going to make it more usful eventually, its just written to get people started

if you're writing a tutorial, its worth checking your spelling. people will think "if he cant spell, does he really know enough to teach me PHP?".
also - even for a TOTAL beginner, it's a bit simple. I remember being disappointed when i wrote my first ever "hello world" script in C++. "is that it?" was pretty much my thought. PHP is not really a language for someone to get stuck into if they havent got the aptitude to do something more challenging than a basic echo script.

cheers
Mark

well yeah i know what you mean the first i learnt with php was to echo  hello world well i though the same thing well thats crap, but thats only the begginning of the tutorial i will add more in time

i have also spell checked it so all the speelings sould know be correct.

i was planning on showing them something like how to create a simple database system where you can add things and retrive them with php showing them how to do this. as then like you said i would be more then super simple

I don't quite agree with "Marlo" that replied on your forum. I wouldn't call it a "kick-ass tutorial". While showing people how to output content and defining variables is important, a tutorial should still contain more than that. In my opinion you should at least have introduced GET/POST, forms and functions.

[quote author=Renlok link=topic=117099.msg477510#msg477510 date=1165063079]
i have also spell checked it so all the speelings sould know be correct.
[/quote]
Sorry Renlok, had a little chuckle at this line ;)