Newbie Needing Some Help

Seanphpwannabe

Hello All, 

So I am very new to php and mysql. I have started learning html5, css, bootstrap, php and mysql because I want to create my own stuff. 

Anyway, I am trying to follow a tutorial on youtube and have ran into a problem. 

The person who did the tutorial is not having the same issues as I am and cannot understand why. 

I am using xammp with php7.

Errors I am getting

Warning: mysqli_real_escape_string() expects exactly 2 parameters, 1 given in C:\xampp\htdocs\login\process.php on line 9

Warning: mysqli_real_escape_string() expects exactly 2 parameters, 1 given in C:\xampp\htdocs\login\process.php on line 10

Warning: mysqli_select_db() expects exactly 2 parameters, 1 given in C:\xampp\htdocs\login\process.php on line 15

Warning: mysqli_query() expects at least 2 parameters, 1 given in C:\xampp\htdocs\login\process.php on line 18

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function mysql_error() in C:\xampp\htdocs\login\process.php:19 Stack trace: #0 {main} thrown in C:\xampp\htdocs\login\process.php on line 19

Here is my code

<?php
//Get values passe from form in login.php file
$username = $_POST['user'];
$password = $_POST['pass'];

// to prevent mysql injection
  $username = stripcslashes($username);
  $password = stripcslashes($password);
  $username = mysqli_real_escape_string($username);
  $password = mysqli_real_escape_string($password);

// connect to the server and select database

mysqli_connect("localhost", "root", "");
  mysqli_select_db("adminbook");

// Query the Database for user
  $result = mysqli_query("select * from users where username = '$username' and password = '$password'")
      or die("Failed to query database ".mysql_error());

$row = mysqli_fetch_array($result);
        if ($row['username'] == $user && $row['password'] == $pass){
          echo "Login Success!!! Welcome ".$row['username'];
        } else {
          echo "Failed to login!";
        }
?>

What am I doing wrong?