Jump to content


Photo

Critique on DigitaLife


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
15 replies to this topic

#1 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 January 2006 - 05:12 PM

Please take a look at this site [a href=\"http://www.modelfotograf.dk\" target=\"_blank\"]www.modelfotograf.dk[/a] its my first website ever but it is updated a few times. I hope on some feedback, its made in Dreamweaver MX, Flash MX, Notepad and PhotoShop. The text is in Danish :-)


EDIT: I am sorry, but cant I get you folks to take a look on a modified version here:

[a href=\"http://www.modelfotograf.dk/test/index.php\" target=\"_blank\"]http://www.modelfotograf.dk/test/index.php[/a]

and tell witch to keep


Sorry for my bad english :(
[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]

#2 Prismatic

Prismatic
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 503 posts
  • LocationSan Diego

Posted 09 January 2006 - 07:37 PM

It looks very good! One thing though is, I would add a loading box that pops up when you click a link, I could not tell if they were dead links or what until the page updated :)

#3 moberemk

moberemk
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 695 posts

Posted 10 January 2006 - 02:26 AM

It does indeed have good style. However, at the top, the links flicker when I hover on them. What's up with that?
Disclaimer: No matter how harsh I may be, I'm always IMO only.

#4 AndyB

AndyB
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 5,465 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 10 January 2006 - 02:52 AM

At 800x600 resolution the navigation is totally unavailable. Scrollbars I can handle, but zero navigation???
Legend has it that reading the manual never killed anyone.
My site

#5 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 January 2006 - 11:12 AM

[!--quoteo--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE[/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
I would add a loading box that pops up when you click a link, I could not tell if they were dead links or what until the page updated :)
[/quote]

Hey, you say some thing, good idea.!!

[!--quoteo--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE[/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
However, at the top, the links flicker when I hover on them. What's up with that?
[/quote]

I now, it’s annoying :) It was how it was meant to bee, but it inset god.!! I will take a look at it.

[!--quoteo--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE[/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
At 800x600 resolution the navigation is totally unavailable.
[/quote]

Thank a lot – the problem was:

.streg{
position:absolute;
left:3px;
top:-20px;
width:800px;
height:30px;
}

[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]

#6 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 January 2006 - 07:05 PM

And for those that don’t have flash 7 installed [a href=\"http://www.digitalife.dk/flash.php\" target=\"_blank\"]www.digitalife.dk/flash.php [/a] :-)
[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]

#7 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 January 2006 - 06:33 PM

Hi

A lot of things have happened with my site, I have designed a guestbook with a admin system and redesign the menu. And som other things with the code

The admin system can be seen here : [a href=\"http://www.digitalife.dk/div/ret.jpg\" target=\"_blank\"]http://www.digitalife.dk/div/ret.jpg[/a]
[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]

#8 jcombs_31

jcombs_31
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,066 posts
  • LocationFL

Posted 25 January 2006 - 07:30 PM

When I see a flash site I come to expect a little more. The navigation can use some work. The slide transitions are fine, but flash sites tend to be more graphical and pretty to look at. This site is clean, but missing something. There also seems to be a lack of color.

#9 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 February 2006 - 10:01 PM

jcombs_31 you say it ;~)

I have made an total redesign and removed most of the flash and JavaScript and found another and better domain for the Danish people ;-) [a href=\"http://www.modelfotograf.dk\" target=\"_blank\"]www.modelfotograf.dk[/a]
[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]

#10 redbullmarky

redbullmarky
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,863 posts
  • LocationBedfordshire, England

Posted 09 February 2006 - 11:46 PM

[!--quoteo(post=344236:date=Feb 9 2006, 10:01 PM:name=FLD)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(FLD @ Feb 9 2006, 10:01 PM) View Post[/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
jcombs_31 you say it ;~)

I have made an total redesign and removed most of the flash and JavaScript and found another and better domain for the Danish people ;-) [a href=\"http://www.modelfotograf.dk\" target=\"_blank\"]www.modelfotograf.dk[/a]
[/quote]

i wasn't quite sure about it until i saw the first woman that cropped up on the gallery. she could make a site with marquee text, flashing banners and comic sans font look good! :)

anyway...

i think things look quite nice. whilst white, gray and black on their own normally don't make an ideal look, for a photography site (i think!) I think you've matched the concept very well. things are neater and better than previously anyway.
only two grumbles (nothing major - might just be my browser which is Safari on an Apple Mac) - going through the site, it looks as if you're trying to keep the main content rectangle the same size all the way through, only the Contact (Kontakt) page shifts itself in position and size. also - the contents on the 'produkter' page fall outside the bottom boundaries.

otherwise, it's clean, nice and easy to get around (even tho I don't understand most of it) and to the point.


"you have to keep pissing in the wind to learn how to keep your shoes dry..."

I say old chap, that is rather amusing!

#11 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 February 2006 - 07:37 AM

redbullmarky>

Hi, Thanks a lot!

Its quite funny, I started with this design 4 days ago – I felt a little provoked by al the critique by Danish people for the dark design and the use of flash and JavaScript on digitalife. and went to make a boring bright design ripped for every thing beside CSS, HTML and a little bit of JavaScript, and went cute glad for it :) now my goal is to replace the Flash galley with an PHP gallery if the visitor don’t have Flash or JavaScript activated.

I now about the problem with the position of going from the contact page to one of the other pages, I presumed that it was an Opera bug, I have tested in IE, FF and made screenshots in Safari from [a href=\"http://danvine.com/icapture/\" target=\"_blank\"]http://danvine.com/icapture/[/a] to check the design in Safari. I don’t get it, the HTML and CSS code is 100% valid and I cant find the problem, but I will continue looking :)

Sorry for my bad English, hope you understand what I am writing ;~)

Yes she is a superb women ;)

[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]

#12 redbullmarky

redbullmarky
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,863 posts
  • LocationBedfordshire, England

Posted 10 February 2006 - 10:01 AM

[!--quoteo(post=344356:date=Feb 10 2006, 07:37 AM:name=FLD)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(FLD @ Feb 10 2006, 07:37 AM) View Post[/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
I now about the problem with the position of going from the contact page to one of the other pages, I presumed that it was an Opera bug, I have tested in IE, FF and made screenshots in Safari from [a href=\"http://danvine.com/icapture/\" target=\"_blank\"]http://danvine.com/icapture/[/a] to check the design in Safari. I don’t get it, the HTML and CSS code is 100% valid and I cant find the problem, but I will continue looking :)
[/quote]

as a guess, without looking at your code, i would say it's your <FORM> tag on the contact page. whilst they're invisible, they actually still take up a little space on a page. sometimes tricky to sort out, but not impossible.

cheers
Mark

"you have to keep pissing in the wind to learn how to keep your shoes dry..."

I say old chap, that is rather amusing!

#13 play_

play_
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 717 posts

Posted 11 February 2006 - 01:22 AM

I was distracted by all the beautiful girls in there. wow.
regex.kat.sh --- regex library
u.kat.sh ---- url shortener
tabbit.org ---- tabbed pastebin

#14 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 February 2006 - 12:46 PM

redbullmarky> Thanks a lot I found the bug :-)

play_ LOL ;-)

I have added a <noscript> that check the users browser for JavaScript if they have disabled it the will be redirected to a page where the can decide to enable it or see a limited version of the gallery

EDIT: The problem is that it isn’t allowed to use <noscript> in meta so the gallery page isn’t valid, some one that knows a way the send them to that page that is valid?
[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]

#15 redbullmarky

redbullmarky
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,863 posts
  • LocationBedfordshire, England

Posted 12 February 2006 - 01:56 PM

whilst i'm sre that there are a million ways to detect javascript, here's a way i've used before. the following is 'include'd in all my files in my site. basically it does a quick check by using javascript command to submit a form, then logs the result as a session variable. the check is only carried out once, unless someone has javascript turned off (just incase they turn it back on after the warning). i'm sure you could modify it your own way:

<?php
// jstest.php
// javascript detector for php. ideal to be placed in a script used commonly through a site.

session_start();

// check that the test hasn't already been done
// test will be repeated if either it's not been done before, or if javascript is off to check
// if a user has turned it on during a session.
if (!isset($_SESSION['js_on']) || $_SESSION['js_on'] == false)
{
   // check for post values - if we have post values, it means the form was submitted by javascript.
   if (isset($_POST['jstest'])) {
      $_SESSION['js_on'] = true;
   } else {
      // first time - construct a form and submit it with javascript
      echo '<form name="jstest" method="post">';
      echo '<input name="jstest" type="hidden" value="js_on" />';
      echo '<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">';
      echo 'document.jstest.submit();';
      echo '</script>';
      echo '</form>';
      
      // if we get here, it means javascript is OFF
      $_SESSION['js_on'] = false;
   }
}

// rest of script goes here....
//
//
//
// etc
//
//
//

echo "javascript is ".($_SESSION['js_on'] ? "on":"off")."<br>";
echo 'normal script here';
?>

"you have to keep pissing in the wind to learn how to keep your shoes dry..."

I say old chap, that is rather amusing!

#16 FLD

FLD
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 February 2006 - 06:56 PM

[!--quoteo(post=345093:date=Feb 12 2006, 08:56 AM:name=redbullmarky)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(redbullmarky @ Feb 12 2006, 08:56 AM) View Post[/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
whilst i'm sre that there are a million ways to detect javascript, here's a way i've used before. the following is 'include'd in all my files in my site. basically it does a quick check by using javascript command to submit a form, then logs the result as a session variable. the check is only carried out once, unless someone has javascript turned off (just incase they turn it back on after the warning). i'm sure you could modify it your own way:[/quote]

Hi,

Sorry for my late response :(

I have solved it this way:

<noscript>
<div>
</div>
</noscript>

The way I mention above is not only valid it also something google considered as cheat.

The code you have posted, I will copy paste it at keep it :-)

I am sorry, but cant I get you folks to take a look on a modified version here:

[a href=\"http://www.modelfotograf.dk/test/index.php\" target=\"_blank\"]http://www.modelfotograf.dk/test/index.php[/a]

and tell witch to keep



[a href="http://www.modelfotograf.dk" target="_blank"]Fotograf - Haderslev - Denmark | Model fotograf - Portrætbilleder - Freelance fotograf[/a]




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users