Want to learn another language.

s0c0

There are still a few things I'd like to learn in PHP, but I think I have a strong grasp of the language (been programming in PHP for a year).  The other thing I want to learn is building SOAP applications on both ends and I've ordered some books on the matter.  I also want to solidify my MySQL knowledge and have ordered a book on Intermediate to Advanced MySQL stuff and one dedicated to stored procedures.  The only other language I know is javascript, mainly Ajax implementations.  I still have a ways to go with that, but I am pleased with what I've learned of Ajax in 6 months.  I'm a beginner-to-intermediate user in Linux, but I am by no means married to a platform.

What I am wondering is what would be the next best language to learn.  I am a web developer and like web development and I have virtually no experience with any other languages.  Any ideas?  I'd like to find one that will give me the best return on my investment  (salary/career-wise and making me a better programmer).

Learn c.

Then learn about and implement various abstract data types in c.  Then move on to algorithm analysis.

You can do that in 6 months or less and would be greatly better off for it IMO.  Many, many people, especially around this forum, are likely to disagree with me though.

The only reason I would disagree with your roopurt18 is because C is not object oriented. I don't know if s0C0 understands OOP, but it would be the next fundamental thing to learn in my opinion.  If you plan to stick with only web programming, I suggest you learn another web programming langauge if you really insist on learning.  As suggested, you can try PERL, Python, or you can dive into the .net world and trying something like C#.

No one keen on Ruby?

I am! Ruby was the next step for me after php. Once you learn the syntax you will find that most other languages seem really long winded.