User rankings / ratings for Solved topics

gr1zzly

Okay so I'm just a newbie here and may not fully understand the workings of this forum (appologies), and indeed only started teaching myself php about a month ago, but I have a suggestion...

What if people who post 'Help needed' topics could indicate exactly which user's response helped them to solve their problem? This could then be turned into a sort of rank for the users based on their successful helps, not just how many posts they've made.

As it stands it seems that people are kind of ranked based on their 'presence' on the forum, i.e. how many posts they've made. But this doesn't necessarily have any bearing on the persons actual ability. My suggestion would provide a 'Quality over Quantity' approach to users advice.

What are people's thought's on this?

As it stands it seems that people are kind of ranked based on their 'presence' on the forum, i.e. how many posts they've made. But this doesn't necessarily have any bearing on the persons actual ability. My suggestion would provide a 'Quality over Quantity' approach to users advice.

I would agree in that that's how most people perceive it, and it shouldn't be. We did use a karma system before which is similar to what you're describing but it was disabled for a reason that I can't remember. I'm sure one of the other staff members will pop in and refresh my memory!

A grouping (rank) system has already been implemented.  See here.