Saving Google Maps Polygon in MySQL

Imrana
Go to solution Solved by kicken,

Hi all,

Thank you for viewing my post. In my application I allow users to draw shapes on google maps using google maps api v3.

I dont know how to store the polygons in MySQL? Im new to google maps api and dont have a clue. Please help.

I was thinking should I store each point seperately in a database field or store the whole polygon as json?

This is what I have so far. I have created a json object that stores all the verticles in a list. I was thinking of saving this whole json in one database field?

This is the code used to contruct the array:

var vertices = selectedShape.getPath(); // MVCArray           

var pointsArray = []; //list of polyline points  
for (var i =0; i < vertices.getLength(); i++) {
    var xy = vertices.getAt(i); //LatLang for a polyline
    var item = { "lat" : xy.lat(), "lng":xy.lng()};
    pointsArray.push(item);
}

var polygon = {"points" : pointsArray};

This is the constructed json result:

{"points": [ {"lat": 51.51814351604911, "lng": -0.14479637145996094 }, { "lat": 51.51830374452608, "lng": -0.13861656188964844}, { "lat": 51.516194024429446, "lng": -0.13968944549560547}  ]}

Should I have the whole thing in one field? Is it better to save each vertices (lat and lng) in a seperate row, so for the above polygon there will be 3 rows?

Kind regards,

Imran

Hi all,

Thank you for viewing my post.

In my application I allow users to draw shapes on google maps using google maps api v3.

I dont know how to store the polygons coordinates in MySQL? Please help.

I was thinking should I store each point as a seperate row or store the whole polygon in one row as json? Is there a better way?

Kind regards,

Imran