Bigger monitor

.josh

Okay my goal here is to actually have higher resolution, so that I can get more lines of text on the screen in a document or editor or whatever.  My screen resolution is set to the highest I can make it already, but I want more.  Lots more. 

So I was thinking what if I bought a big screen plasma tv? Like, one that is like 3 feet high. BLAM! Okay here's the thing that I don't know, since I'm not a hardware expert or anything; maybe someone can tell me before I go drop a thousand bucks on this: 

If I go buy a big screen plasma/lcd tv that offers hdmi or dvi input, will it actually give me higher screen resolution options, like instead of 1440x900 px It will say like 10,000x8,000 px or something?  Or will it just give me the same resolution options, and just show the same amount of lines, only bigger?  Again, goal is to get more lines of text on the screen.  LOTS more.

Would I need to find a graphics card capable of higher resolutions?  Are there even graphics cards available that are capable of that?

You might get a slightly higher resolution, but nothing like 10,000x8,000 :)

Also, in my experience it is more difficult to setup, the quality can be a little crappy.

What size screen are you currently using? You could consider getting a larger one, I get a good 50+ lines of code on my 22" TFT at 1680 x 1050 resolution. Finally, if this isn't enough, consider rotating your screen onto its side to increase the vertical resolution, my 22" will display 90+ lines of code in this view :D

ILMV

You'd have to look at the TV specs for the max resolution.  You should definitely get LCD if you plan to use this as a monitor, plasma can still get screen burn and is not the best option for what you want.  I think ILMV is right, you can always get a swivel monitor and turn it vertical.  I use a 22" but I think 24" is pretty large and you'd be more than happy.